Margaret Bennett, Author

Regency Romance eBooks

              
             

The Hopeless Hoyden


By Reading Fanatic on January 25, 2014
This is the third Margaret Bennett book that I've read. I enjoyed it just as much as I did the first two and would be hard pressed to say which of the three is my favorite. Ms. Bennett is a fairly new author. She only has a few books, and "The Hopeless Hoyden" is one of her earlier ones. Keeping that in mind, Ms. Bennett's books evince a talent for creative writing. The stories she weaves, while by no means perfect, are extremely enjoyable.  (Kindle Store)

By Susan Corwin on November 18, 2013
Fun And Light -- I laughed out loud!
This review is from: The Hopeless Hoyden (Kindle Edition)
Written with a light touch, humor, and rather clever irony; this book is a nice read. I really enjoyed the characterizations and the funny dialogue. While the plot is predictable, it is a sweet story with unexpected situations and entertaining little surprises. I want to read more by this author. (Kindle Store)


By Definitive on November 25, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Out of all of the books that I have chosen from the Kindle Library, I think "The Hopeless Hoyden" is one of the best I've read. I just gave it five stars. The Author was
able to create a profile of a Tom-Boy or then a again; a very mischievous girl (or Hoyden).  (Kindle Store)


By Maggie, Dec.  23, 2013
Really liked it. Enjoyable regency romance. Loved the heroine and the hero, the villain was suitably dastardly too. A fun read and a nice way to spend some time.  (Goodreads.com)


              



             

The Impossible Governess


By Katherine, Apr. 27, 2015
 I loved our main character - her determination, her refusal to cower to a Lord and her dear relationship with her employers niece. (Goodreads.com)

 Liz Needle, May 03, 2013
I quite enjoyed this regency romp. The characters were engaging and the story reasonably entertaining. It was a good light read and I will try more stories by this author. (Goodreads.com)

ByKindle Customeron February 22, 2015
5 stars!  Delightful. I am a sucker for a governess story. I love Regency era too so this was the perfect novel for a cold, snowed in day.Georgia and Marissa are captivating and Lord Raynor is well lordly. A light, fun read. If you are looking for a breath of fresh air, this is it.  (Kindle Store)

ByWoodseveron October 25, 2014
Very sweet and funny. This is an unusually delightful story with several humorous moments. I had to give five stars due to the great plot and characters. The editting is almost nonexistent with misspellings, etc..but a cute as story. I love that the heroine doesnt just give in after one kiss and her unexpected reactive reflex is great!  (Kindle Store)


ByDanaon, November 17, 2013
Wonderful Piece of Literature.  The book had an amazing ending and this piece of literature is a must read. The author paints a picture of how life as a governess would be for a woman of the former "in" crowd. I would recommend this book for someone who is looking for a good read on a cold day. This book will tear at your heart strings and make you laugh and even cry.

              




A Lady’s Dilemma
Or the Dandy and Lady Penelope


By Amazon Customer,  January 8, 2014
5 Stars ! ! !
I like it! Once I open the first page; I couldn't stop reading the story until I completed the last page before I turn off the light and went to bed! A good plot—I enjoy the Regency Period. Gave me good feeling to fall asleep on after reading the ending. Keep up the good writing. -- BღஐღZ OWL (Kindle Store)
 
By diana drabek, January 8, 2017
Fun and entertaining read!
 I couldn't put this book down. I loved the main character, Max. From his outfits to the way he was towards Pen. I loved the secretiveness throughout the book and the well developed storyline. Fantastic book! A must read. (Kindle Store)

              



             

The Poor Relation


By Patricia Schuette, Apr 28, 2016
It was amazing
I have just discovered Margaret Bennett and can't wait to read more of her books. She blends mystery and romance delightfully.  (Goodreads.com)

By Panda Fan,  May 29, 2013
This is the second book I've read by Margaret Bennett and it was another enjoyable read. Not overly long but filled with enough detail to include mystery, intrigue, wit and romance. I felt a real emotional connection to the heroine Chloe and my heart ached for her at times. With no money and no dowry her prospects for marriage are nonexistent and she is living as a companion to her tipsy great-aunt. Saying any more would give away too much of the plot. I would definitely recommend this book.  (Kindle Store)

By Jillon, December 8, 2013
Entertaining with some intrigue, romance and humor. It is truly refreshing to read a book that is proof read and has a plot and characters you can like and is entertaining without dragging you down with depressing realities we can read in the news. Thank you Margaret Bennett very much for an entertaining diversion. (Kindle Store)

              



             

My Lady Smuggler


By Cynthia Johnson, September 16, 2013
This story kept my attention. I have read all of this author s books and have enjoyed them very much. (Kindle Store)
 
By lorre, May 6, 2014
5 stars!
The life on the coast is hard and many people had to resort to either smuggling or helping the smugglers. This story is about the lives of families on the Dover coast and the French coast. The main characters Rosalind & Melvyrn are both members of the ton but prefer their life in the country. They fall in love while they smuggle alcohol and soldiers across the channel.  (Kindle Store)
 
By diana drabek, December 31, 2016
Engaging read.
I like the time period, and the plot kept me in suspense. I enjoyed the spirit of Rosalind, and her determination to go against the grain. The descriptive manor of how the author sets the tone kept me engaged throughout the book! (Kindle Store)

              


The Diplomat's Daughter



By Kindle Customer, January 22, 2015
Entertaining precocious child saves the day!
A child shall lead them! Hilarious happenings and ingenious events occur when a ten year old takes up the cuddles in defense of her siblings against a seemingly indifferent guardian. Throw in a little romance between the guardian and an aunt, you have a really good book! (Kindle Store)
 
By Unknown, January 12, 2015
A very good book indeed. It was well written and flowed along really well. It had all the elements that I like. There was innocence, intrigue, real characters, jealousy, suspense, and love. (Kindle Sore)

              




The Earl and the Vicar's Daughter


By Panda Fan, May 3,2016
Nice Little Regency Romance
Nicely written for a novella as it didn't feel choppy or too short. There was just enough plot and character development to keep it interesting. I liked it. While there were no explicit scenes it did include suggestive language and passionate kissing. (Kindle Store)
 
By diana drabek, December 31,2016
Great Read!
I really enjoyed how the author paints a wonderful picture of the time period. The struggle between the characters are relatable. I got lost in the time period, and I am looking forward to reading more of her books! (Kindle Store)

              



An Independent Lady

By Fionaon, March 16, 2014
Really enjoyed reading this book, the anguish felt by Amelia, her nephew's situation and Andrew wanting to help…has been captured in a very subtle manner…shows how love quietly grows on both of them... (Kindle Store)

By Miriam Meadeon, January 29, 2013
This novel was a delight I highly recommend it for anyone who loves this period of history as well as a like for a thoroughly wonderful heroine. (Kindle Store)

By Whosoeverwillon, September 19, 2013
Usually, I am annoyed when so-called "Regency" heroines act in ways that would be ridiculously unthinkable for an actual woman of that time, but I must admit I was absolutely charmed by Amelia. Even though she knows she is behaving foolishly, her independent streak keeps winning out, and I keep rooting for her. Also, in the true Regency tradition, the author sprinkles in just the right amount of humor along with her character studies. This is a very enjoyable book, and I'm happy to be able to recommend it. (Kindle Store)

              





The Stowaway Heiress

By diana drabek, December 17, 2016
5 stars! Couldn’t put it down!I thoroughly enjoyed this book! I love the time period and the author did very well with portraying it accurately. The main characters were well developed and kept me engaged. I would suggest this read to anyone who enjoys a little suspense, a little romance, and a good read in general! (Kindle Store)